Active company coverage

Applied Optoelectronics

AAOI

NASDAQ · Applied Optoelectronics, Inc.

TRT follows Applied Optoelectronics through 800G and 1.6T ramps, in-house laser manufacturing, customer concentration, capacity spending and the risk that a strong order narrative outruns execution.

Switch coverage

Current read

What matters for AAOI now

TRT follows Applied Optoelectronics through 800G and 1.6T ramps, in-house laser manufacturing, customer concentration, capacity spending and the risk that a strong order narrative outruns execution.

What changed

Applied Optoelectronics registers a $600 million at-the-market stock offering

Why it matters: This is a financing authorization and not evidence that Applied Optoelectronics has already sold $600 million of stock.

What to watch next

Data-center revenue and 800G shipments

Developing timeline

Latest briefs

Company-specific events plus global decisions with a material connection.

The source registry is active. No brief has cleared review yet.

Economic feed

Signals that change the read

Short, evaluated entries stay inline with the ticker dossier. Filter the feed when the archive gets dense.

Major developmentfunding

Applied Optoelectronics registers a $600 million at-the-market stock offering

Why it matters: This is a financing authorization and not evidence that Applied Optoelectronics has already sold $600 million of stock.

Major developmentrevenue

Applied Optoelectronics reports sharply higher revenue while funding a major capacity expansion

Why it matters: The economic event is the combination of strong demand-driven growth and a heavily financed manufacturing expansion, not the filing label itself.

Relevant signalexecution

Applied Optoelectronics: equity financing capacity, Houston expansion and property acquisition

Why it matters: The packet contains separate capital-markets, governance, facilities-leasing, quarterly-results and real-estate-acquisition events; they should not be presented as one economic event.

Major developmentfunding

Applied Optoelectronics executives disclose proposed sales of newly vested shares

Why it matters: The disclosures are concentrated across the CEO, CFO and other senior officers, making the group more informative than an isolated insider-sale notice.

Major developmentfunding

Applied Optoelectronics executives report $5.8 million of common-stock sales

Why it matters: The filings document direct sales by two senior executives over consecutive trading days, with substantial remaining direct holdings reported afterward.

Major developmentfunding

Applied Optoelectronics director sells 56,575 shares at weighted average $189.2285

Why it matters: The filing documents a completed insider transaction, not a stated view on the company's valuation or outlook.

Major developmentfunding

Applied Optoelectronics officers disclose proposed May 19 sales after PSU and RSU vesting

Why it matters: The economic event is a coordinated set of proposed insider dispositions after equity-award vesting, not a single company transaction.

Major developmentfunding

Applied Optoelectronics registers a potential $600 million at-the-market stock offering

Why it matters: This is financing capacity, not evidence that Applied Optoelectronics has already raised $600 million. The prospectus expressly says the company may sell no shares or only part of the authorization.

Relevant signalfunding

Applied Optoelectronics CFO Sells 4,000 Shares Under a 10b5-1 Plan

Why it matters: The disclosed plan predates the sale by several months, limiting what this single transaction can say about current management views.

Major developmentfunding

Applied Optoelectronics CFO files planned sale of 4,000 shares

Why it matters: The notice describes a planned CFO sale under a disclosed 10b5-1 plan and links the shares to an RSU grant, providing context for the transaction.

Business trajectory

What is different now

No trajectory update has cleared publication yet.

Risks and unknowns

What remains open

  • The number of shares, prices and gross proceeds that will ultimately result from the offering.
  • Whether any shares had been sold under this new agreement as of the filing date.
  • The specific allocation and timing of any proceeds.
  • The filing does not provide a current full-year revenue or profitability outlook.
  • The filing does not establish when the capacity investments will generate returns or positive operating cash flow.
  • Customer deployment timing, order commitments and the durability of the reported data-center demand are not independently confirmed in the packet.
  • The packet does not state how many shares, if any, were sold under the new equity distribution agreement or the net proceeds received.
  • The packet does not include the numerical second-quarter financial results despite identifying the results announcement.
  • The packet does not state the final construction completion date, occupancy date or production capacity for the leased buildings.
  • The packet does not state whether the purchased property and the leased buildings are part of one consolidated expansion plan or provide expected returns from either investment.
  • The packet does not provide the exact amount of operating costs, taxes and insurance payable under the leases.
  • Whether any or all of the proposed sales were completed.
  • Whether the proposed sales were made under Rule 10b5-1 plans; the filings include the relevant representation but do not provide plan-adoption dates.
  • The executives' remaining ownership after the proposed sales.
  • The aggregate amount of shares actually sold and realized proceeds.
  • The executives’ reasons for selling.
  • Whether the transactions were conducted under a Rule 10b5-1 plan.
  • The exact proceeds from each transaction because the filings provide weighted-average prices rather than a single gross-proceeds field.
  • The filing does not explain why DeLaney sold the shares.
  • The filing does not disclose taxes, fees, or net proceeds.
  • The economic interest, if any, in the 2,380 shares held by DeLaney's spouse is not quantified.
  • Whether the proposed May 19 sales were completed.
  • The post-transaction ownership of each officer.
  • The vesting terms and performance conditions underlying the PSU awards.
  • Whether the proposed sales were made pursuant to a Rule 10b5-1 plan, except where separately stated in the filings.
  • No completed sale or proceeds are reported in this event.
  • The timing, price and number of shares ultimately sold are unknown.
  • The packet does not provide the individual execution prices or the total value of the sale beyond the weighted-average price.
  • The packet does not show whether other officers or directors sold shares at the same time.
  • The packet does not confirm settlement of the proposed sale.
  • The packet does not provide the CFO’s post-sale ownership.
  • The packet does not state whether any portion of the proposed sale is for tax withholding.
  • Whether the data-center revenue increase reflects durable end-customer deployments or timing and concentration effects from a small number of customers.
  • Whether management's expected production efficiencies and product mix improvements will restore gross-margin performance.
  • The timing and amount of any reimbursement under the Texas grant, because qualifying expenditures and program compliance remain conditions to funding.
  • The amount of additional dilution from the approximately 4.8 million shares sold through the ATM offering after March 31, 2026 and how the raised capital will be allocated.
  • Whether the company can reduce operating cash use as inventory and receivables grow.
  • Whether the scheduled closing occurred.
  • How the acquisition will be financed and its effect on cash, debt, and capital expenditures.
  • The expected manufacturing capacity, headcount, or cost changes associated with the property.
  • The lease obligations referenced in Item 2.03 are not described in the extracted filing text.
  • The transaction history that produced the reported position.
  • The economic exposure and any derivatives underlying the beneficial ownership.
  • Whether the position has changed since the March 17 event date.
  • The filing does not state when or whether the remaining approximately $250,000,017 of capacity will be sold.
  • The eventual number of shares issued and actual proceeds will depend on sales and market prices; the filing states that the actual total public offering amount, commissions and proceeds, if any, are not determinable at this time.
  • The filing does not identify a committed acquisition or a specific allocation among debt repayment, working capital and capital expenditures.
  • The illustrative $111.59 dilution figure is based on assumed sales at $127.01 per share and is not a forecast of actual future dilution.
  • Whether any shares will be sold, when sales will occur, the actual sale prices, total proceeds and final share count.
  • The final allocation of proceeds among debt repayment, working capital, capital expenditures or acquisitions.
  • Next receipt needed: a subsequent filing or sales update reporting actual shares sold and proceeds.
  • The packet does not disclose the dollar value of the enhanced obligations.
  • The packet does not indicate whether a change of control is contemplated or pending.
  • The full amendment text is referenced as Exhibit 10.1 but is not included in the packet; it is needed to verify all conditions and definitions.
  • A Form 144 is a notice of proposed sale; the packet does not establish that the February 11 sales were completed.
  • The packet does not provide the applicable withholding, tax, or remaining equity-award balances.
  • The packet does not provide the officers' ownership percentages or the company's current share price outside the aggregate values reported in the notices.
  • The packet does not provide the grant-date fair value or expected compensation expense for the RSUs.
  • The packet does not provide tax-withholding details or the officers' fully diluted ownership percentages.
  • The packet does not identify whether any sales were intended to cover tax obligations.
  • The packet does not provide the seller's total direct and indirect holdings after the filing beyond the reported direct balance.
  • The packet does not provide the company's share price reaction or other contemporaneous company information.

Active thesis

Hype Check

Research queue

No published Hype Check yet.

We will not manufacture a verdict to fill the module. The developing brief timeline remains the active product.

Decision points

Key questions

  • Is demand or manufacturing capacity the binding constraint?
  • Can higher-speed products improve the margin structure?
  • How concentrated are the largest customer programs?

Coverage inputs

Primary sources

These are recurring first-party and regulatory surfaces in the company watch registry.