Active company coverage

AMD

AMD

NASDAQ · Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

AMD is a useful counterweight to NVIDIA: its opportunity depends on CPU share, accelerator deployments, rack-scale systems and the software required to make customers switch. TRT follows product execution, customer commitments, supply, margins and the difference between announced partnerships and realized revenue.

Switch coverage

Current read

What matters for AMD now

AMD is a useful counterweight to NVIDIA: its opportunity depends on CPU share, accelerator deployments, rack-scale systems and the software required to make customers switch. TRT follows product execution, customer commitments, supply, margins and the difference between announced partnerships and realized revenue.

What changed

AMD CEO Lisa Su reports planned share sales and a 35,000-share gift

Why it matters: The filing combines planned sales, a gift and tax-related share withholding; these transactions should not be treated as a single bearish operating signal.

What to watch next

Data-center CPU and GPU growth

Developing timeline

Latest briefs

Company-specific events plus global decisions with a material connection.

official
AMDinfrastructure deployment

AMD, Cisco and HUMAIN put MI355X AI infrastructure into production in Saudi Arabia

AMD, Cisco and HUMAIN said MI355X-based infrastructure is live and outlined a larger planned Saudi Arabian buildout.

Open brief
filed
AMDdebt_financing

AMD closes $4.75 billion senior-note offering across 2029–2036 maturities

AMD completed a four-part senior-debt offering totaling $4.75 billion, with maturities spread from 2029 through 2036.

Open brief
official
AMDacquisition

AMD agrees to acquire Taalas for specialized AI inference technology

AMD announced a definitive agreement to acquire Taalas, whose specialized silicon targets inference bottlenecks.

Open brief
official
AMDproduct and platform launch

AMD lays out a full-stack AI infrastructure push at Advancing AI 2026

AMD introduced Helios rack-scale systems alongside new CPUs, GPUs, networking and physical-AI products.

Open brief
official
AMDtechnical partnership

AMD and Cerebras pair Helios with wafer-scale inference

The companies announced a disaggregated inference architecture combining AMD Helios throughput with Cerebras low-latency token generation.

Open brief
official
AMDstrategic partnership

AMD and Anthropic plan up to 2 gigawatts of MI450 deployments

AMD and Anthropic announced a multi-year partnership spanning AI infrastructure, software development and a proposed AMD investment.

Open brief
official
AMDstrategic partnership

Microsoft expands Azure deployments of AMD compute and networking

Microsoft and AMD announced expanded Azure deployments spanning Helios, EPYC processors, Pensando DPUs and Azure Boost.

Open brief
official
AMDAMD and Meta 6GW strategic partnership

AMD and Meta align on up to 6 gigawatts of Instinct AI infrastructure

AMD and Meta announced a multi-year agreement for up to 6 gigawatts of AMD Instinct GPUs, linking a large deployment plan to a custom MI450-based platform and milestone-based economics.

Open brief

Economic feed

Signals that change the read

Short, evaluated entries stay inline with the ticker dossier. Filter the feed when the archive gets dense.

Major developmentfunding

AMD CEO Lisa Su reports planned share sales and a 35,000-share gift

Why it matters: The filing combines planned sales, a gift and tax-related share withholding; these transactions should not be treated as a single bearish operating signal.

Major developmentfunding

Lisa Su files notices for proposed AMD stock sales totaling up to $49.5 million in stated market value

Why it matters: These are notices of proposed sales, not evidence that the September 10 transactions were completed.

Major developmentfunding

AMD closes $4.75 billion senior-note offering across 2029–2036 maturities

Why it matters: AMD has converted a planned financing into $4.75 billion of issued long-dated debt, extending maturities across four series through 2036.

Relevant signalexecution

AMD Reports Second Quarter 2026 Financial Results

Why it matters: The retained primary source establishes the event; public significance depends on execution and follow-through beyond the announcement.

Business trajectory

What is different now

No trajectory update has cleared publication yet.

Risks and unknowns

What remains open

  • The filing does not state the aggregate dollar proceeds from all reported sales in the packet excerpt.
  • The purpose and recipient of the 35,000-share gift are not identified.
  • The packet does not establish whether the sales were made solely for diversification, taxes or other personal planning reasons.
  • The packet does not state whether either proposed sale was completed, the execution prices, or the final proceeds.
  • The packet does not establish the exact beneficial ownership relationship between Lisa Su and the Lisa Su and Daniel Lin Family Trust beyond the filer and account names shown.
  • A later Form 4 or other SEC filing confirming execution and actual prices is needed.
  • How AMD will allocate the net proceeds among general corporate purposes and debt repayment.
  • The net proceeds after underwriting discounts, fees and other expenses.
  • The effect on AMD’s total debt, interest expense and leverage after any repayments.
  • The source does not by itself establish the eventual commercial or financial outcome.
  • The packet does not identify the recipient or purpose of the 30,000-share gift.
  • The packet does not state whether the sales were for diversification, liquidity, taxes or another purpose.
  • The aggregate gross sale value is calculated; the filing reports separate weighted-average prices and does not report one aggregate proceeds figure.
  • The filing does not provide information about AMD's operating results, guidance or other corporate developments associated with the transactions.
  • Whether the proposed-sale notice was fully executed at the stated terms beyond the corresponding Form 4.
  • Whether any additional sales were made under the same notice.
  • The purpose of the sale proceeds.
  • Whether the 125,000-share proposed sale was completed and the prices at which any shares were sold.
  • The filing does not disclose Lisa Su's remaining ownership after the proposed sale.
  • The filing does not explain the intended use of proceeds.
  • The packet does not confirm whether the proposed sale occurred.
  • The packet does not provide the option exercise price or the final sale price.
  • The packet does not identify whether the sale was made under a Rule 10b5-1 plan.
  • The filing does not quantify how much of future revenue is expected from the Meta arrangement or provide a confirmed deployment schedule beyond the stated first gigawatt description.
  • The filing does not establish whether AMD will obtain all licenses needed for future China shipments or what the eventual commercial impact of those restrictions will be.
  • The filing does not provide a full customer-level revenue concentration breakdown for the quarter.
  • The filing does not establish whether the reported Data Center demand rate will continue through the remainder of fiscal 2026.
  • Whether the proposed sale was completed.
  • The actual execution price and final proceeds.
  • The remaining holdings of Mark Papermaster after any sale.
  • The terms, duration, and trading conditions of the Rule 10b5-1 plan.
  • The packet does not provide the aggregate proceeds from the reported sales.
  • The packet does not state the specific AMD stock-price hurdles required for each PRSU payout level.
  • The packet does not establish whether any PRSUs will ultimately be earned or vested.
  • The packet does not confirm completion of the proposed sale.
  • The packet does not provide final execution prices or proceeds.
  • The packet does not state the purpose of the proposed sale.
  • The packet does not provide new AMD operating or financial guidance.
  • The packet does not provide the trusts' annuity terms, beneficiaries or tax treatment.
  • The packet does not establish any change in economic exposure beyond the reported ownership records.
  • The notice is a proposed sale and the packet does not confirm execution.
  • The packet does not state whether the sale was intended to cover tax withholding or another liquidity purpose.
  • The packet does not disclose the performance criteria or attainment levels for the settled PRSUs.
  • The packet does not provide aggregate proceeds for Jean Hu's sales.
  • The packet does not establish whether the filings represent all relevant AMD executive transactions during the period.
  • The packet does not provide the total dollar proceeds for either insider's complete set of transactions.
  • The packet does not state whether the sales were associated with taxes, diversification, or another personal liquidity purpose.
  • The packet does not provide the original erroneous ASP and shipment presentation side by side with the corrected version.
  • The packet does not quantify how much of the Client segment’s growth came from product mix within the reported ASP increase.
  • The filing does not provide a customer-confirmed order value or recognized revenue attributable to the OpenAI GPU agreement; the next receipt needed is the agreement’s execution, purchase-order or revenue disclosure and evidence of deployment milestones.
  • The filing says AMD received some licenses for MI308 shipments to certain China-based customers but does not identify the full licensed volume, remaining inventory exposure, or whether further licenses will be granted; the next receipts needed are subsequent SEC filings or official licensing and shipment disclosures.
  • The filing reports a potential expectation that the U.S. government will receive 15% of licensed MI308 China-sale revenue but states that no regulation establishing the requirement had been published; the next receipt needed is a final government rule or AMD disclosure of the requirement’s legal and financial treatment.
  • The ZT Manufacturing Business sale remains subject to customary post-closing adjustments and includes a contingent earn-out of up to $450 million; the next receipts needed are post-closing adjustment and earn-out disclosures.
  • The packet does not identify KC McClure's prior roles or expertise.
  • The packet does not state the grant-date value of the 1,278 RSUs.
  • The packet does not provide any expected effect on AMD's strategy or financial results.

Active thesis

Hype Check

Research queue

No published Hype Check yet.

We will not manufacture a verdict to fill the module. The developing brief timeline remains the active product.

Decision points

Key questions

  • Can AMD convert large AI partnerships into recurring shipments and revenue?
  • How much switching friction remains in software and systems?
  • Can data-center growth scale without sacrificing margins or cash conversion?

Coverage inputs

Primary sources

These are recurring first-party and regulatory surfaces in the company watch registry.