Active company coverage

Alphabet

GOOGL

NASDAQ · Alphabet Inc.

Alphabet is the key public comparison for Meta's AI spending and advertising economics. TRT follows the interaction between Search, YouTube, Cloud, TPUs, model distribution and the capital intensity required to defend the platform.

Switch coverage

Current read

What matters for GOOGL now

Alphabet is the key public comparison for Meta's AI spending and advertising economics. TRT follows the interaction between Search, YouTube, Cloud, TPUs, model distribution and the capital intensity required to defend the platform.

What changed

Marvell posts record fiscal Q2 revenue and expands its Google custom-chip partnership

Why it matters: The filing combines a strong reported quarter with a commercial relationship that links a large potential equity issuance to future Google-related custom-chip purchases.

What to watch next

Search and advertising economics under generative AI

Economic feed

Signals that change the read

Short, evaluated entries stay inline with the ticker dossier. Filter the feed when the archive gets dense.

Major developmentfunding

Alphabet closed a $25 billion senior-note offering across maturities to 2066

Why it matters: The closing creates a durable financing and debt-service obligation. The mix of maturities and fixed/floating coupons is more informative than treating the aggregate principal as a business investment.

Major developmentrevenue

Alphabet reports sharply higher second-quarter revenue while raising capital for AI infrastructure

Why it matters: The quarter's operating result is stronger than the headline net-income increase alone suggests: revenue grew 24% and operating income grew 30%, while the exceptional net-income result was dominated by a $99.0 billion equity-securities gain that the company described as primarily unrealized.

Major developmentexecution

Alphabet venture affiliate continues Ethos Technologies share distributions and sales

Why it matters: This is a continuation of the affiliate distribution and monetization pattern disclosed in the earlier Ethos filing, but it is a separate receipt covering July 17 and July 20 transactions.

Major developmentexecution

Alphabet venture affiliate distributes and sells Ethos Technologies shares

Why it matters: The economic event is a venture-affiliate distribution followed by liquidation of the distributed position, not an operating announcement by Ethos Technologies.

Major developmentfunding

Alphabet launches up to $40 billion equity program and sells $10 billion private placement to Berkshire affiliate

Why it matters: The financing package gives Alphabet substantial optionality: the $40 billion ATM program is a ceiling rather than committed issuance, while the separate public stock offering and Berkshire-affiliate placement are specified issuances.

Relevant signalfunding

Alphabet registers a new automatic shelf for future securities offerings

Why it matters: This filing establishes financing capacity and legal infrastructure, but it does not by itself establish that securities were sold or that proceeds were raised.

Major developmentfunding

Alphabet closes ¥576.9 billion Japanese-yen senior-notes offering

Why it matters: This is completed debt financing rather than a proposed or authorized borrowing.

Major developmentfunding

Alphabet prices ¥576.5 billion of senior unsecured notes across seven maturities

Why it matters: Alphabet is using the offering to raise long-dated yen financing across seven points on the maturity curve, with spreads to reference rates ranging from +35 basis points to +125 basis points.

Major developmentfunding

Alphabet closes €9 billion euro-note and C$9.5 billion Canadian-dollar note offering

Why it matters: The filing records a completed, multi-currency debt financing rather than a proposed transaction.

Business trajectory

What is different now

No trajectory update has cleared publication yet.

Risks and unknowns

What remains open

  • The packet does not establish how much of the warrant will ultimately vest or the eventual revenue contribution from the Google relationship.
  • The company’s outlook is forward-looking and remains subject to execution and demand conditions.
  • The filing does not state the use of proceeds, all-in issuance costs, or Alphabet’s post-offering leverage and interest-expense impact.
  • The filing does not provide the identity of the private company associated with the majority of the non-marketable equity gain or disclose the underlying transaction terms that drove the remeasurement.
  • The filing does not quantify how much of the $513.9 billion Google Cloud backlog will convert to cash in each period or identify customer-level concentration within that backlog.
  • The filing does not specify the eventual common-share dilution from conversion of the mandatory convertible preferred stock or any future ATM sales.
  • The filing does not provide a final outcome or expected timing for the PriceRunner appeal.
  • The $707.0 billion commitment figure is largely made up of long-term supply agreements, but the filing does not provide a complete maturity schedule or expected annual cash-payment profile for those agreements.
  • The packet does not identify the ultimate partners receiving the distributions beyond the stated affiliate structure.
  • The packet does not provide cost basis, investment return or the reason for continued sales.
  • The packet does not state whether additional sales are scheduled after July 20.
  • The packet does not identify the ultimate partners receiving the in-kind distribution beyond the named affiliate structure.
  • The packet does not provide the seller's investment return, cost basis or reason for the sales.
  • The use of proceeds for the public stock offering, private placement, and ATM program is not stated in the filing excerpt.
  • The filing does not state whether any ATM shares had been sold by June 4, 2026.
  • The final closing status and terms of the depositary-share offering require the expected June 5, 2026 Current Report on Form 8-K.
  • The final net proceeds after underwriting discounts, commissions, and expenses are not stated.
  • Which securities, if any, will ultimately be issued under the registration statement.
  • The final pricing, size, timing, proceeds, dilution, and debt terms of any offering.
  • Whether the registration statement’s capacity will be used for the transaction described in the related free-writing prospectus.
  • Use of proceeds is not disclosed in the packet.
  • Net proceeds and issuance costs are not disclosed.
  • The packet does not state whether Alphabet entered into currency hedges for the yen liabilities.
  • The effective interest cost to Alphabet may differ from the stated coupons because of issuance terms and hedging.
  • The packet does not specify the use of proceeds beyond the offering document's general financing terms.
  • The packet does not provide Alphabet's total post-issuance debt position or the currency-hedging strategy, if any.
  • The packet does not confirm that either offering settled or that investors paid the stated principal amounts on May 11, 2026.
  • The packet does not identify the specific outstanding debt, if any, that will be repaid with proceeds.
  • The packet does not provide final net proceeds after expenses for the Canadian-dollar offering; it provides proceeds net of aggregate underwriting discount before expenses.
  • The packet does not provide the final prospectus supplements or any subsequent filing confirming issuance, settlement or changes to the pricing terms.
  • The first filing says the company may raise additional amounts in a near-term Canadian-dollar offering, while the second says the company launched a concurrent Canadian-dollar offering; the packet does not explain whether the Canadian-dollar terms superseded or finalized that earlier conditional language.
  • The filing does not identify the TPU customers, contract-level pricing, margins or delivery schedules.
  • The filing does not provide standalone post-acquisition revenue or operating income for Wiz or Intersect.
  • The filing does not disclose the identity of the private investment recipient or the probability that the contingent $30.0 billion funding milestones will be achieved.
  • The filing does not specify how much of the $35.7 billion in quarterly capital expenditures was allocated to AI infrastructure versus other technical infrastructure.
  • The packet does not include the full award agreements referenced in the filing.
  • The Average Closing Price used to calculate the number of PSUs and GSUs is not provided.
  • The ultimate number and value of PSUs that will vest are unknown.
  • The packet does not provide the average closing price used to determine the grant share counts.
  • The filings do not provide the eventual value realized by the executives.
  • A successor and interim coverage arrangements are not identified.
  • The filing does not provide additional detail about the timing or nature of the new professional opportunity.
  • The filing does not disclose whether the departure changes Alphabet’s financial-reporting processes.
  • The packet does not confirm whether the proposed sales were completed.
  • The packet does not provide final execution prices or proceeds.
  • The packet does not state the economic purpose of the trust sales.
  • The target number of PSUs, GSUs, Waymo BPUs, and Wing BPUs because the relevant average closing price and fair values are not supplied.
  • The valuation, dilution, transfer restrictions, and governance terms for Waymo and Wing units.
  • The full award agreements, which Alphabet says will be filed with its quarterly report for the quarter ending March 31, 2026.
  • The performance thresholds and precise payout curves for the Waymo and Wing awards.
  • The packet does not identify the transfer consideration or tax terms beyond the reported $0 price.
  • The packet does not explain the beneficial ownership or voting implications beyond the listed ownership records.
  • The packet does not provide the offering's net proceeds, pricing discounts, or Alphabet's post-offering total debt.
  • The packet does not identify a specific use of proceeds.
  • Final settlement status and cash proceeds received.
  • Specific debt repayment destination, if any.
  • Completion of any concurrent currency-denominated offerings.
  • The packet does not confirm that the notes settled on the stated February 13, 2026 settlement date.
  • The packet does not identify the specific outstanding debt, if any, that may be repaid with the proceeds.
  • The packet does not provide the final prospectus supplement or a post-settlement confirmation.
  • The packet does not state whether Nasdaq approved listing or whether trading began.
  • The packet does not state the award’s grant-date fair value or the compensation expense recognized.
  • The packet does not provide the final net number of shares retained by Pichai after tax withholding in a single line.
  • The packet does not state whether any subsequent sale occurred.
  • The filing does not establish whether the increased infrastructure spending will produce proportional future revenue, cash flow, or returns.
  • The filing does not provide a standalone quantified contribution from AI products to consolidated revenue or profit.
  • The timing and final financial terms of the pending Wiz and Intersect acquisitions remain subject to closing conditions and regulatory approvals.
  • The packet does not provide the total number of shares sold by all selling stockholders or the final IPO valuation.
  • The filing does not provide gross proceeds or net proceeds for the GV funds.
  • The packet does not establish whether Alphabet itself received the proceeds or the size of its pecuniary interest.
  • The filing does not state the offering size, price, valuation, or timing of the initial public offering.
  • The filing does not state Alphabet's aggregate economic cost or expected proceeds from the position.

Active thesis

Hype Check

Research queue

No published Hype Check yet.

We will not manufacture a verdict to fill the module. The developing brief timeline remains the active product.

Decision points

Key questions

  • Can AI answers protect or weaken the economics of Search?
  • Will Cloud and AI revenue grow faster than infrastructure depreciation and capex?
  • Which AI products become durable businesses rather than engagement features?

Coverage inputs

Primary sources

These are recurring first-party and regulatory surfaces in the company watch registry.