Active company coverage

Vertiv

VRT

NYSE · Vertiv Holdings Co.

Vertiv gives TRT a physical-infrastructure lens on AI. GPUs and models receive the attention, but power delivery, thermal management, deployment lead times and service economics determine how much compute can actually operate.

Switch coverage

Current read

What matters for VRT now

Vertiv gives TRT a physical-infrastructure lens on AI. GPUs and models receive the attention, but power delivery, thermal management, deployment lead times and service economics determine how much compute can actually operate.

What changed

Vertiv agrees to acquire Utility Innovation Holdings for up to $2.60 billion

Why it matters: The contingent consideration shifts part of the purchase price toward post-close performance, limiting the amount payable if targets are missed but adding execution complexity.

What to watch next

Orders, backlog and data-center demand

Economic feed

Signals that change the read

Short, evaluated entries stay inline with the ticker dossier. Filter the feed when the archive gets dense.

Major developmentcontract

Vertiv agrees to acquire Utility Innovation Holdings for up to $2.60 billion

Why it matters: The contingent consideration shifts part of the purchase price toward post-close performance, limiting the amount payable if targets are missed but adding execution complexity.

Relevant signalrevenue

vrt-20260729

Why it matters: The retained filing is the primary record; interpretation is limited to what the document states.

Major developmentrevenue

Vertiv reports strong second-quarter growth alongside acquisitions and debt refinancing

Why it matters: The filing shows growth extending beyond reported sales: Vertiv paired higher revenue and operating profit with acquisitions in liquid-cooling and adjacent thermal technologies and materially higher planned capital spending.

Major developmentrevenue

Vertiv stockholders elected the board and approved compensation and auditor proposals

Why it matters: The vote preserved the full slate of eleven nominees for another one-year term.

Major developmentfunding

Vanguard Capital Management reports 7.48% beneficial ownership of Vertiv

Why it matters: The filing establishes a greater-than-5% ownership disclosure, but it does not provide a prior reported position or quantify any purchase or sale since an earlier filing.

Major developmentrevenue

Vertiv reports strong first-quarter growth while refinancing debt and expanding capacity

Why it matters: The quarter shows operating leverage and strong growth concentrated in the Americas, while EMEA contracted despite a positive foreign-currency impact.

Major developmentfunding

Former Vertiv officer proposes sale of 500,000 shares valued at $132.9 million

Why it matters: This is a proposed sale notice, not confirmation that the proposed sale occurred.

Major developmentfunding

Former Vertiv officer proposes sale of 1 million shares valued at $263.1 million

Why it matters: This is a notice of a proposed sale, not evidence that the transaction was completed.

Major developmentfunding

Vertiv declares a quarterly cash dividend of $0.0625 per share

Why it matters: The declaration creates a defined cash distribution obligation for eligible shareholders on the stated schedule.

Business trajectory

What is different now

No trajectory update has cleared publication yet.

Risks and unknowns

What remains open

  • The acquisition remains subject to customary closing conditions and the earnout is not guaranteed.
  • The filing alone does not establish the full market or operating impact.
  • Final purchase-price allocations and standalone acquisition performance remain unavailable.
  • The packet does not explain the reasons for the relatively lower vote totals for individual nominees.
  • The packet does not disclose any shareholder proposals beyond the three proposals described.
  • The packet does not provide a prior comparable ownership filing, so the direction and magnitude of any ownership change cannot be determined.
  • The packet does not identify the acquisition transactions or dates that produced the reported position beyond the statement’s event date of March 31, 2026.
  • The packet does not establish whether Vanguard’s beneficial ownership changed after March 31, 2026.
  • The filing does not quantify the contribution of individual customers or specific AI-related programs to growth.
  • The ultimate amount of PurgeRite contingent consideration remains dependent on post-closing performance metrics.
  • The filing does not establish whether the planned full-year capital expenditure range will be sufficient to meet future demand.
  • Purchase price, consideration structure, financing source, and any contingent consideration for ThermoKey are not stated in the supplied excerpts.
  • ThermoKey’s revenue, profitability, assets acquired, liabilities assumed, and expected contribution to Vertiv are not stated in the supplied excerpts.
  • The closing conditions that were satisfied and the post-closing integration timetable are not stated in the supplied excerpts.
  • Whether the proposed sale was completed and at what prices.
  • The relationship between the March 9 sale and the March 10 proposed sale.
  • The seller's reasons and the ultimate ownership of Powerbar 2 Limited.
  • The packet does not identify the beneficial ownership relationship between Philip O'Doherty and Powerbar 2 Limited beyond the filing's sale-account description.
  • The packet does not provide the trading plan or execution details.
  • The prior quarterly dividend amount and whether this declaration changes the payout rate.
  • The aggregate cash cost of the dividend and its effect on liquidity.
  • The board’s rationale and any stated payout-policy target.
  • The packet does not provide the final underwriting discounts, fees and net proceeds by tranche.
  • The packet does not quantify the final change in annual cash interest expense attributable solely to the refinancing.
  • A future receipt would be needed to assess any subsequent drawings, amendments, covenant changes or refinancing effects after June 30, 2026.
  • The filing states that the majority of backlog is expected to ship within 12 to 18 months, but also states that backlog estimates are not necessarily indicative of net sales for any future period; the extent and timing of conversion remain unknown.
  • The PurgeRite purchase-price allocation remains preliminary, including the final working-capital adjustments and amounts allocated to intangible assets; the company expects to complete the process no later than twelve months after closing.
  • PurgeRite may generate up to $250.0 million of additional cash consideration if specified post-closing performance metrics are achieved; the final amount and payment timing are unknown.
  • The filing does not quantify the standalone revenue or operating contribution of the Great Lakes and PurgeRite acquisitions for 2025.

Active thesis

Hype Check

Research queue

No published Hype Check yet.

We will not manufacture a verdict to fill the module. The developing brief timeline remains the active product.

Decision points

Key questions

  • Is demand constrained by customer budgets or by available power and cooling capacity?
  • Can Vertiv turn backlog into revenue without execution or margin deterioration?
  • How durable is the pricing power created by high-density AI deployments?

Coverage inputs

Primary sources

These are recurring first-party and regulatory surfaces in the company watch registry.